A group of filmmakers, actors, curators and scientists chosen for the juries of the 2022 Sundance Film Festival.

They will watch from home during the festival online only.

(Sundance Institute) The 21 members of the seven juries of the Sundance Film Festival 2022. Top row (left to right): Chelsea Barnard, Marielle Heller and Payman Maadi (US Dramatic contest jurors), Garrett Bradley, Joan Churchill and Peter Nicks (US Documentary competition) and Andrew Haigh (World Cinema Dramatic competition). Middle row: Mohamed Hefzy and La Frances Hui (World Cinema Dramatic competition), Emilie Bujès, Patrick Gaspard and Dawn Porter (World Cinema Documentary competition), Joey Soloway (Next), Penelope Bartlett (short films competition). Bottom row: Keith Jerome Everson and Blackhorse Lowe (short film competition), and Dr Heather Berlin, Lydia Dean Pilcher, Dr Mandë Holford, Shawn Snyder and Tenoch Huerta (Alfred P. Sloan Prize jury).

They may be working from home, but 21 actors, filmmakers and other professionals have signed up to serve as jurors for the 2022 Sundance Film Festival online-only.

The Sundance Institute, the nonprofit arts group that hosts the festival each year, announced its jury roll on Friday – two days after announcing it was canceling its in-person screenings and events in Utah due to the increase in COVID-19 cases both statewide and nationwide.

Sixteen of these people will decide which films will win in six jury categories, among the films screened online from January 20. 29 and 30.

The five-member jury of the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize, awarded to a film that depicts science or technology, made their choice in advance. The institute announced in December that “After Yang,” a sci-fi drama by director / writer / editor Kogonada, would receive the Sloan Prize.

Here are the members of the juries:

American Drama Competition • Chelsea barnard, producer (“C’mon, C’mon”, “Booksmart”) and former chairman of the film for Annapurna Pictures; Marielle Heller, screenwriter / director (“A beautiful day in the neighborhood”, “Can you ever forgive me?”); and Payman Maadi, Iranian-American actor, who starred in Oscar-winning “A Separation”.

US Documentary Competition • Garret bradley, documentary filmmaker (“Time”) and the first black American woman to win the Sundance Jury Director’s Award; Jeanne Churchill, pioneer of experiential documentaries; and Pierre Nicks, cinematographer / director known for his trilogy of systems films in Oakland, Calif. – “The Waiting Room”, “The Force” and “Homeroom”.

World Cinema Drama Competition • Andrew Haigh, British director (“Lean on Pete,” “45 Years”); Mohamed hefzy, Egyptian screenwriter and producer (“Luxor”, “Sheikh Jackson”); and La Frances Hui, film curator for the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).

Documentary competition on cinemas around the world • Emilie Bujès, artistic director of Visions Du Réel, Nyon International Film Festival in Switzerland; Patrick Gaspard, President and CEO of the Center for American Progress and Ambassador of President Barack Obama to South Africa; and Dawn Bearer, documentary maker who directed “John Lewis: Good Trouble”, “The Way I See It” and other films.

Following • Joey soloway – the creator of “Transparent” and “I Love Dick” and the 2013 Sundance Achievement Award winner for “Afternoon Delight” – is the sole juror in this category.

Short Film Program Competition • Penelope Bartlett, director of programming for Criterion Channel; Kevin Jerome Everson, who has made more than 200 films; and Blackhorse lowe, a Navajo Nation filmmaker, recently directed episodes of the FX series “Reservation Dogs”.

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Award • Dr Heather Berlin, neuroscientist, clinical psychologist and associate clinical professor of psychiatry and neuroscience at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York; Dr Mandë Holford, associate professor at Hunter College and CUNY Graduate Center, expert in venoms and poisonous animals, and co-founder of learning game company Killer Snails; Tenoch Huerta, Mexican actor / writer / producer who has appeared in “Narcos: Mexico”, “The Forever Purge” and other films; Lydia Dean Pilcher, writer / director / producer, most recently directing “A Call to Spy” and “Radium Girls”; and Shawn snyder, a filmmaker whose 2018 debut film “To Dust” won Best New Director and Best Narrative Audience at the Tribeca Film Festival.

About Jessica J. Bass

Check Also

UK court convicts chairman of bankrupt Harlequin Group over $274m Caribbean fraud

The chairman of luxury Caribbean hotel and resort developer Harlequin Group was found guilty on …